Southwestern Eggrolls

Wow, it’s been a while, hasn’t it. I guess sometimes you need to take a break from something in order to get back to really enjoying it.

I think that is kind of how I am feeling about Blogging. It was something I jumped into…which is awesome, but maybe I went too fast. I am going to take my time, this time, and really think about what I want to share, and not feel like I have to blog every day, about something fantastic that I just made. ‘Cause sometimes, you just have to run to get pizza for dinner…or make PB&J. And that’s ok!

I am super excited, though, to write about our year…things that happen, and yummy food I experiment with…and I hope you enjoy.

Today, I want to share a recipe I have wanted to try for a while, but never did. I LOVE Chili’s restaurant. It is seriously one of my favorite places to eat. I have attempted a few different recipes…and REALLY succeeded on a couple, one of which is the Southwestern Eggrolls.

These delicious eggrolls come, perfectly crispy, with a delicious avocado ranch dipping sauce. To. Die. For. They were a little bit scary to try, which is why it took me so long to do so, but they were SO worth the wait. When we sat down and took our first bite, Philip looked at me, and was actually speechless for a few seconds! That’s how you know they are yummy!

I got the recipe from this site and decided to go for it! I made a couple of changes but it was pretty much exactly the same.

 

photo 2

 

Oh yea, that’s me…getting ready to fry up the eggrolls! You can never be too prepared…right?

 

Southwestern Eggrolls

1 Cup cooked, diced chicken

2 tablespoon red bell pepper, minced
2 tablespoon green onion, minced
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
2 tablespoon spinach, sliced very thinly
1/3 cup corn
¼ cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained
2 tablespoon canned jalapeño peppers, diced
3/4 cup Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
½ teaspoon cumin
½ tablespoon fresh parsley, minced
¼ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon chili powder
Dash cayenne pepper
Eggroll Wrappers
Avocado Ranch Dipping Sauce
¼ cup fresh avocado, smashed, about half of an avocado
¼ cup sour cream
¼ cup mayonnaise
1 ½ teaspoon white vinegar
1 tablespoon buttermilk
Dash dried dill weed
dash garlic powder
Dash black pepper
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon dried parsley
1 tablespoon onion, chopped
1/8 teaspoon onion powder
For Dipping sauce:
Mash avocado, mix with all other ingredients, chill.
For Eggrolls:

In a medium size skillet heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium-high heat.
Add to skillet red pepper and onion; sauté until tender, about two minutes.
Cube chicken and add to skillet.
Add spinach, corn, jalapeño peppers, black beans, chili powder, parsley, cumin, salt, and cayenne pepper to mixture.
Cook for 4 minutes; stir well to incorporated ingredients in the mixture.
Take pan off the heat; add cheese and stir until melted.
Fill skillet or large pot with 2-3 inches of vegetable oil, for frying. Turn on to medium heat.
Place eggroll wrapper, one at a time, on a clean surface, so that it looks like a diamond. Place approx. 2 spoonfulls of the filling in the center of the wrapper. Fold up bottom corner, then fold ends. Finally, roll the eggroll closed, sealing with a touch of cool water. Do this until all filling is used.
Take a pinch of flour and put into oil. If it sizzles, you know your oil is hot enough. Place eggrolls in the oil, seam side down. Do not crowd them! When the under-side is nice and golden brown, flip. When entire eggroll is crispy, place to dry on a paper towel. Repeat for all eggrolls.
Slice diagonally and serve with avocado dipping sauce.
photo 1
I have to admit, I made these again tonight…yes, the night after we had them the first time. I happened to have enough to make a second batch and let me tell you, they were JUST AS GOOD the second time.
Enjoy!
One thought on “Southwestern Eggrolls

Leave a Reply

